HomeHall of FameHighlights 2015

Highlights 2015


Milan Vrábel - ERC Starting Grant

The group of Milan Vrábel received the prestigious ERC Starting Grant. The project entitled “Smart Biologics: Developing new tools in glycobiology” aims to develop a new strategy for construction of hybrid peptide-small molecule bioconjugates as highly selective inhibitors and manipulators of sugar processing enzymes.


Our colleagues in PNAS

Our colleagues Aleš Buček, Petr Šebesta, Ullrich Jahn and Iva Pichová published an article in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

Buček A., Matoušková P., Vogel H., Šebesta P., Jahn U., Weißflog J., Svatoš A., Pichová I.:
Evolution of moth sex pheromone composition by a single amino acid substitution in a fatty acid desaturase.
PNAS 112:12586–12591, 2015.


Irena Valterová awarded

Project Pollinators as a crucial factor in agriculture (Technology Agency of the Czech Republic; 2011-2014), solved by Irena Valterová research group, was awarded by the Agency as the best in category "Usefulness of Results".


P. Bouř and V. Parchaňský in Nature Chemistry

Our colleagues Petr Bouř and Václav Parchaňský published an article in Nature Chemistry.

S.O. Pour, L. Rocks, K. Faulds, D. Graham, V. Parchaňský, P. Bouř and E.W. Blanch:
Through-Space Transfer of Chiral Information Mediated by a Plasmonic Nanomaterial.
Nature Chemistry 7: 591–596, 2015.


Zdeněk Havlas - Senate Silver medal

Czech Senate Chairman Milan Štěch presented Senate Silver medals to 17 personalities, mainly renowned scientists on the occasion of the upcoming Day of Czech Statehood and St. Wenceslas anniversary on September 28. Among awarded scientists was also former director of our Institute Dr. Zdeněk Havlas.


Our colleagues in Nature Communications

Our colleagues from Pavlína Řezáčová reserch group published an article in Nature Communications.

Petr Těšina, Kateřina Čermáková, Magdalena Hořejší, Kateřina Procházková, Milan Fábry, Subhalakshmi Sharma, Frauke Christ, Jonas Demeulemeester, Zeger Debyser, Jan De Rijck, Václav Veverka and Pavlína Řezáčová:
Multiple cellular proteins interact with LEDGF/p75 through a conserved unstructured consensus motif.
Nature Communications 6: 7968, 2015.


Collaboration with Johns Hopkins Medicine

IOCB have entered into a five-year drug discovery research agreement with Johns Hopkins Medicine. This new, formal collaboration is an extension of an existing productive relationship between Dr. Barbara Slusher and the IOCB Prague chemists. The collaboration will operate as part of the John Hopkins Drug Discovery Program and IOCB pipeline program (Targeted Research Groups).

The full press release (pdf file, 322 kB)


Filip Teplý - Rudolf Lukeš Prize

Dr. Filip Teplý is the 2015 recipient of the prestigious Rudolf Lukeš Prize. This prize honors his excellent results of high international importance in the field of organic chemistry, synthesis, and properties of helquats, which he introduced with his team as an original class of helical dications.

The Prize aims at appreciation of specific significant results in the area of organic, bioorganic and medicinal chemistry achieved during the last 5 years and published in prestigious international journals. The sole criterion is the scientifc excellence, originality, creativity and importance of the results.

The Prize is awarded by the Czech Chemical Society and the winner is selected by the international committee to guarantee impartiality and the highest professional standard (Chair Prof. Jay Siegel, University of Zurich; Thorsten Bach, TU Munich; Karol Grela, University of Warsaw and PAS; Henk Hiemstra, University of Amsterdam; Burkhard König, University of Regensburg; Annemieke Madder, Ghent University; Christina Moberg, KTH Stockholm; Tibos Soós, Chemical Research Center HAS, Budapest).

The first laureate of the Rudolf Lukeš Prize (for year 2012) was our IOCB colleague Dr. Detlef Schröder.

More info at:
Rudolf Lukeš Prize - Czech Chemical Society
Journal covers of Dr. Teplý group


Michal Hocek - Praemium Academiae 2015

Our colleague Prof. Michal Hocek is one of two 2015 laureates of the prestigeous Praemium Academiae, awarded by Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic.

The purpose of the award, which is not awarded for lifetime achievement and can not be obtained repeatedly, is to support our research capacity and create conditions in which they could better develop their potential in favor of the Academy of Sciences and the whole of Czech science. Financial bonuses of up to CZK 5 million per year includes a period of six years, the costs associated with research, purchase equipment and wages for the wearer and his collaborators.

More info in Czech language You can find in the following press releases and TV spots:
Český Rozhlas - Zprávy
Hospodářské Noviny - www.IHned.cz
Czech TV


The Wichterle Prize laureates from IOCB

Two our young scientists - Ing. Hana Macíčková Cahová, Ph.D. and Mgr. et Mgr. Evžen Bouřa, Ph.D. received the Wichterle Prize.


More info in Academy bulletin AV ČR (in Czech only)


Our colleagues in Nature Communications

Our colleagues, Jiří Schimer, Jan Konvalinka, Petr Pachl, Marcela Pávová, Pavel Šácha, Petr Cígler, Jan Weber, Pavel Majer and Pavlína Řezáčová published a groundbreaking article in Nature Communications.

Jiří Schimer, Marcela Pávová, Maria Anders, Petr Pachl, Pavel Šácha, Petr Cígler, Jan Weber, Pavel Majer, Pavlína Řezáčová, Hans-Georg Kräusslich, Barbara Müller and Jan Konvalinka:
Triggering HIV polyprotein processing by light using rapid photodegradation of a tight-binding protease inhibitor.
Nature Communications 6: 6461, 2015.


Our colleagues in Nature Chemistry

Our colleagues, Philip Mason, Frank Uhlig, Václav Vaněk and Pavel Jungwirth, published an interesting article in Nature Chemistry. Congratulations!!!

Philip E. Mason, Frank Uhlig, Václav Vaněk, Tillmann Buttersack, Sigurd Bauerecker and Pavel Jungwirth:
Coulomb explosion during the early stages of the reaction of alkali metals with water.
Nature Chemistry 7: 250–254 (2015).

Press responses to this ground-breaking paper explaining and describing turbulent reaction of alkali metals with water You can find in Media section of our web portal...